Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

There are many beliefs about how modern technology has brought societies closer. However, some believe the opposite and think that it actually has driven us away. In my opinion, both approach has rightful sides but personally, I believe modern technology brings us together.

Modern technology came into our lives along with its benefits, one of which is bringing people together. It helps people communicate instantly with their loved ones through e-mail, SMS, and social media all over the world. Secondly, since many people have smartphones, it allows people to get in contact with their loved ones anywhere they want with several online applications and services. For instance, Apple has an app called Facetime to provide video call service, and thus people can see any person they would like to see wherever and whenever. As a result, many people, especially elderly people are delighted to communicate easily which leads to staying in contact with loved ones more often. Moreover, nowadays young people prefer to meet new people for a relationship or a friendship online for the reason of convenience.

On the other hand, some people disagree about the benefits of modern technology. Due to the convenience of communication through smartphones, some people believe it creates separation in close relationships because other people prefer to communicate through text messages or social media rather than meeting up in real life. Moreover, lots of people spend the majority of their time on phones and social media and they start losing their perception of reality which leads to descending socialization.

In conclusion, I think modern technology like smartphones has brought people closer. In my opinion, it is easier to communicate with other people and also find new people. However, we should be aware of the negative sides and be cautious so that we can protect our relationships.