Many cities around the world are facing problems related to traffic congestion. What do you think are the causes of this issue, and what measures could be taken to tackle it?

Many regions are suffering from the traffic problem, Nevertheless, it seems the traffic congestion in some countries is unsolvable for several factors. The ratio of the road and vehicles are not balanced, meaning that the size of roads when compared with the number of civilians’ vehicles are not proportional. Another cause is that public transportation is inconvenient so that people use their own personal cars. To solve it, is to seek for the root of particular issues that grew the problem huge.

Roads were built for transport, and cars were invented for transit. However, the balance between them is not enough. Many countries are trying to enlarge the car industry to increase revenue and boost the economy, consequently, a considerable number of personal vehicles were driven on disproportionate roads. The way to solve it could vary, one example is to increase the tax on newly-manufactured automobiles, except for government service vehicles. It will significantly decrease the number of rides on the streets, and the road will be clearer.

Public transportation plays an important role in reducing traffic congestion by carrying a large group of people all at once. Trains and buses are examples of the most common public transit in which civilians can make their own choice. Nonetheless, it is not every city that has an efficient transportation system. There are two particular problems with this, first, the service prices are too expensive, some citizens cannot afford them. Second, it is not convenient as a private automobile. In order to fix and provide them better commuting, reduce the price and make it cover all the areas that are very civilized. In addition, renovating the service vehicle would be the consideration factor.

As far as I am concerned, there are two main problems with a variety of solutions. The first cause is the ratio between streets and cars are not balanced at all. And one of the solutions is to increase the tax on it. The second one is people prefer to keep using their personal vehicles, to convince people to change to use public transit, reduce the price and cover every high population area. These are just some examples to solve the traffic congestion problem.