Many cities have serious problems with traffic congestion. What are the causes of these problems and what are some possible solutions?

In recent years, traffic congestion has turned into one of the serious problems in many countries in the world. This essay will discuss the main causes of this issue and suggest practical solutions to address it.

The main problem caused by traffic congestion is having many private cars. People tend to more using own cars rather than public transport. The reason for this is they can go anywhere without issues and it gives more opportunity such as release overcrowding, calm and silent atmosphere. Another major issue is that lack of public transport. Some governments do not provide enough buses and underground for citizens. As a result, they have not choice and need drive their private cars. For instance, due to the shortage of public transport in Dushanbe, people are forced to use their own private cars.

To tackle this problem, the states should invest in public transport system. Expanding underground lines and buying additional modern buses can reduce heavy traffic. For example, metro of Singapor has decreased traffic jams to 30%. Moreover, creating bike roads should be propomoted throughout the country in particular in cities. This may be cause reducing traffic jams because of having more facilities for riding a bike and almost free transport. In addition, car parks should be high-priced sufficiently. This urge people to use public transport cause of spending more money to parking.

In conclusion, heavy traffic is a major problem that requires immediate attention. However, if investing public transport system and creating bike lanes are implemented, it could be effectively managed. Therefore, it is essential that both individuals and governments work together to address this problem.