Many companies are now implementing a four-day workweek. Do the advantages of this new work structure outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many firms are beginning to introduce a four-day work week. In this situation, some are concerned that it may decrease productivity of employees. There are pros and cons of a four-day week, and I think it will helpful for both employers and employees.

One of the main advantages of a four-day work week is about employees’ mental and physical health. The change from a five-day work to a four-day work can improve employees’ mental health by removing annoying traffic on the way to work and negative senses like high intense at work for one day a week. Workers even can do something that they strive to do but they couldn’t because of work schedule so far. Furthermore, tiredness of the active behaviors like commuting and concentration on work will decrease, which can have a positive impact on physical and mental health. Employees’ improved health can naturally result in good performances, thus employers’ will satisfy with a four-day week as well.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages like shortage of work duration. In some perspective, deleting one work day a week makes workers hurry up so that they can complete stuffs that they used to spend five days a week in four days a week. Ultimately, they are worrying about productivity decreasing. However, this opinion can be rejected by a view saying that this kind of productivity decreasing will not happen because employees’ can do work efficiently and faster than the past after three days rest a week.

All in all, advantages will surpass disadvantages in my opinion, thus implementing a four-day work week is a great choice for both employees and employers.