Many companies are now implementing a four-day workweek. Do the advantages of this new work structure outweigh the disadvantages?

A thought of introducing new reforms by many countries that motivates a four-day work culture has become increasingly common. This is because change in lifestlye has taken mammoth dimensions. I believe that this trend has more advantages than disadvantages.

To begin with, working four days a week provides enough time to the individuals to spend with their family. As giving too much time to the company refrains them from spending quality time with their loved ones, which results in weak communication between family members and misunderstandings may arrise from this. Additionally, long working hours might affect the physical and mental health of the employees. Hence, by limiting work days people have more time to focus on their body, recover from the stress and burnout happened due to work. This lead to a fit and more energetic workers for the country. For instance, developed countries like Newzealand, Finland has already implemented these policies, resulting an increase in happiness among its population making these the most comfortable countries to live in. Therefore, such plans are benficial for the public as well as the country.

However, it is not possible for all the companies to implement these polices, as some work structures requires proper working hours throughout the week for their organizations to run smoothly. Moreover, with four-day working week people would feel lethargic when they return to office and this may lead to less productive workforce. This would ultimately affect the profits of the company and creates an economic unstability in the country. Thereby, this poses a threat to the overall development of the country.

To sum up, although there are some drawbacks of four-day work week for the companies, yet its benefits are more prominent for the whole community to live a healthy and stress free life.