Many countries are experiencing a decline in traditional craftsmanship skills. Some argue that governments should heavily subsidize these crafts to preserve cultural heritage, while others believe market forces should determine their survival. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In majority of countries, traditional craftsmanship is on it’s way to extinction. Some prepose to subsidize the crafts, in order to protect the dying heritage, on the contrary others argue that it’s survival should be handed to the commercial overlords. This essay argues that in the age of rampant industrialisation and mass production, goverment subsidies might be the last chance for these traditions to make out and live out till the next generation.

In the foothills of himalyas, Nagaland, India naga textile was long hailed as the most intricate and beutiful in the region, but due to rapid rural migration, less employment opportunities in the small villages, families with long tradition of producing naga fabrics had to abandon the craft for better paying factory jobs. The government intervention was a godsend for these families. After substantial subsidies and tax reductions, Naga textile flourished and is now world reknowned for it’s red and black color blocking and fierce motifs.

In the southern part of India, the tale of Pulicat matts is a little different. A whole village of dedicated artisans decided to not give up on their age old tradition of woven bamboo matts. Without any help from the authorities, they were able to make a decent living pursuing their desired tradition. The artisans even started exporting the matts to metropolitan cities. They flourished even in the market of factory made matts which were cheaper. Some argue that inspite of their commendeble feet, government subsidies and help could take their craft to the global stage.

In conclusion, the industrial age is at it’s full pace, and it’s really hard to keep up for small traditional craftsmen, especially when the section of people who make them are impoverished and fending for survival. Government involvement is indespensible in this case. There might be some cases of commercial succes, but those are merely exceptions rather than norms.