Many countries are experiencing a decline in volunteer work, with fewer individuals dedicating their time to unpaid community service. What are the primary reasons for this trend, and what measures can governments and communities take to encourage greater participation in volunteer activities?

The number of people who volunteer for community service has declined drastically in numbers in many countries. There many reasons for these development and measures that can be put in place to increase people’s participation in community service. In this essay each of them would be discussed and reviewed properly.

There are various reasons that might have contributed to less participation in community service in most countries, such as class division in the society, bad economy and little to no sense of belonging. Firstly Using Nigeria as a case study it has been noticed overtime that people from the upper class mostly dont value joining in, in these activities in the community. By giving execuses of been busy with their careers and education, these activities have then been left to the lower class who has been perceived as been less busy for such activitivies. Therefore due to these people started losing interest generally, for example when some member of the community who happens to be of the upper class starts backing of community programmes, the lower class starts breeding resentment for been the only ones in putting in work then gradually gives up on it too

Secondly it is no news that once the economic growth of a country began to fall, citizens tends to focus on personal survival rather than that of the whole community. Focus would enitirely on how to improve their personal finance leaving no time for volunteering. While sometimes lack of sense of belonging can also be the culprit. For example for a community that has no name or leader how would one identify as part of such society talkless of volunteering in it. As of all these i would