Many countries are experiencing serious problems with their environment, with pollution of their land, water and air. What are these problems and how might they be reduced?

Almost every country in the world has problems with the environment, affecting its land, air or water. I believe the main problems on land are caused by building too many houses, using up land for depositing rubbish and also the destruction of trees, which leads to soil erosion.

Perhaps the most helpful thing we can do to tackle these difficulties is to try to persuade governments to stop building on certain areas so that there will be room for more trees. We should also try to use more ‘biodegradable’ materials so that they decay naturally and do not stay in the ground for thousands of years. We should also aim to plant more trees which will prevent soil erosion.

The ways in which air is affected are as follows. Firstly, by burning so many fossil fuels we pump large amounts of toxic gases into the atmosphere which leads to harmful climate change and the destruction of the protective ozone layer. I believe the best way to reduce these problems is by changing our transport policies: we should use more public transport or at least try to use more efficient fuels in cars.

The main effects of pollution and other environmental problems on water are the melting of the ice-caps because of global warming which leads to flooding. There is also contamination of rivers by harmful chemicals. These can be dealt with if global warming is reduced and also by such measures as taxing industries which repeatedly pollute our waterways. It is crucial that these measures are taken in order to ensure a healthy future for our planet.