Many countries have the same shops and products. Some consider it a positive development, whereas others consider it negative. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words

There has been an ongoing debate whether the similarities of shops and products are considered as a positive development or the opposite. In this essay, I will elaborate on both points of view and give my opinion regarding this matter.

To begin with, a lot of stores and products tend to have similarities due to the aspects that are considered as the key to a successful business. Having similarities between each business can build rivalry and competition towards each other, which brings new innovations from the corporations to attract the consumers. These innovations can help improve the quality of the businesses and bring satisfaction towards their customer. For example, because shop A launch a new system that can make payment easier for the customer, shop B will try to upgrade the similar system to attract more people, and from there the innovations are started to be made.

On the other hand, having similar shops and products can confuse and bore consumers due to many options alike, which may affect negatively on smaller corporations who have alike aspects with the other brands if they cannot come up with new innovations to stand out. In instance, in Indonesia, affordable ice cream shop business ventures were highly popular and you can found them almost everywhere on the street, but people become bored with the similar concept and eventually the percentage of the customers are plummeted, which cause a lot of shops to close and employees getting laid off.

In conclusion, having similarities between the industry can bring more new ideas and options to the table; however, if there are too many brands alike, it will be hard for the clients to choose since there many similar options to choose from, which likely have detrimental effect on smaller business ventures and the workers. In my opinion, this phenomenon will much likely have more negative effects due to the higher risks of bankruptcy and unemployment.