Many countries show signs of consumption downgrading. Why? Will it have an adverse effect on the economy?

Consumption downgrading has become a topic of interest in many countries. Along with a slowing economy and rising living costs, more and more consumers are choosing affordable and high-quality products to cut their expenses.

There are many reasons for this phenomenon. First, the current downward economic environment has made people unconfident about their future source of income, so they adopt a rational spending strategy and reduce their daily expenditures to cope with potential financial pressure. Second, the changing attitude of consumers has led people to focus on the practical functions of products rather than the value and reputation of brands. Third, people, especially those living in urban areas, are facing unprecedentedly heavy workloads every day. City residents should have been the main force of the consumption market. Unfortunately, the time that used to be spent on shopping, recreation, and entertainment has been taken away, and most of the things they pay for are nothing but daily necessities.

There are concerns that consumption downgrading is making the economy even worse. For example, both companies’ revenues and job opportunities offered in these industries will be jeopardized. A more severe outcome will be that many companies will go bankrupt. However, consumption downgrading is more important in reflecting the increasing rationality of people’s spending habits, which not only increases family financial savings but also encourages companies to innovate their products and services to meet the changing trend of demands in the market.

In general, consumption downgrading is caused by comprehensive factors such as a slower economy, people’s new shopping style, and their working pressure. Although it has demonstrated temporary negative effects on the economy, it will stimulate our economy in the long run.