Many education systems rely heavily on standardised tests to assess student performance. Some argue this is an effective measure of ability, while others believe it places unnecessary pressure on students. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In many schools and universities, students’ knowledge is assessed mainly by exams. As a result, there is a view that this is a useful way of tracking students’ academic progress. Others, however, contend that it causes extra pressure. While I acknowledge the potential detrimental effects on students, ranging from anxiety to only testing theoretical skills, I believe that the benefits of standardized tests – fair assessment and an opportunity to work on weaknesses – carry more weight.

Admittedly, one can be justified in claiming that benchmark examinations are unnecessary since they lead to several problems. The most concerning issue is anxiety and depression which students often face before an exam. This is mainly attributed to the fear of failure or getting low results, which in turn may lead to disappointment and even punishment. For example, China and North Korea have imposed strong rules in schools, according to which those with weak performance receive disciplinary sanctions and be required to clean their school premises. Perhaps even more worrying is the fact that such methods do not necessarily prepare students for real-life situations as they measure only a narrow range of skills, which do not include abilities such as creativity and teamwork. It is because students are given tests where they rely heavily on memorization, exam techniques, and academic knowledge, while vocational competence is often dismissed. Thus, schools often fail to provide well-rounded education, which may result in difficulties for students when dealing with problems beyond the classroom.

These arguments notwithstanding, I remain convinced that uniform academic assessments are vital for students’ future job and higher education prospects. The main benefit of such a policy is its fairness as standardized tests encourage accountability and ensure candidates show their true educational progress. Nationwide exams offer objective basis for assessment for everyone regardless of their school or social background – a student from a rural school and one from a prestigious urban school can be evaluated according to the same assessment criteria. This in turn enable academic achievement to be assessed more reliably so that students can compete for places at top universities and scholarships based purely on merit rather than external factors. Moreover, teachers can identify students’ weaknesses by looking at their exam performance. For instance, if a student was unable to solve mathematical problems, teachers will work with the pupil to enhance their math skills. In such a way, education systems ensure a better future prospects to their students, thereby helping them acquire all essential skills.

In conclusion, while I realize that benchmark examinations may cause depression and cover only theoretical knowledge, I maintain that they play a key role in providing students with equal opportunities to perform and target areas requiring improvement, thus increasing their chances of academic and professional success