Many governments have laws that ban the sale and use of hard drugs such as heroin and cocaine, yet they allow people to buy drugs such as tobacco and alcohol. Laws that prohibit the sale and use of hard drugs should be applied to all drugs, including tobacco and alcohol. What is your opinion?

Using hard drugs can cause negative effects on health if they are overused. However, some of them have no strong effects, such as tobacco and alcohol, depending on use behavior. In my opinion, there are two reasons why smoking tobacco and drinking alcohol should not be banned.

Firstly, tobacco and alcohol can be used for entertainment purposes. For example, when people have parties, smoking, and drinking are the parts that make them feel more enjoy and funny. Some drunk people look more humorous than when they have full consciousness. In addition, smoking can relax and calm someone down when they are anxious. Moreover, tobacco and alcohol can be collected as well. Some people keep them as a collection and they are precious for people admiring these kinds of things as seen in the museum.

Secondly, the export of tobacco and alcohol can make high income in some countries. Because of the uniqueness of cigarette and alcohol drinking in some areas, they can be exported to other countries. Such as Soju being from South Korea is very famous, therefore, foreigners who have tasted and like it have to buy Soju repeatedly which means it can be a significant part of the income of South Korea.

In conclusion, although there are negative effects of using hard drugs, it still has advantages in entertaining, such as for the party, collection, and economic facets. Therefore, governments should not ban all drugs, but just some of them. Whether the use of hard drugs is beneficial or not, depends on how much, when, and where individuals use the drugs.