Many governments have laws that ban the sale and use of hard drugs such as heroin and cocaine, yet they allow people to buy drugs such as tobacco and alcohol. Laws that prohibit the sale and use of hard drugs should be applied to all drugs, including tobacco and alcohol. What is your opinion?

Use of addictive substances does not come without a cost. This includes addiction, health issues and much more. The government has laws banning the purchase and use of a number of them such as hard drugs, yet turns a blind eye when it comes to tobacco and alcohol. This essay will argue that all addictive, health and mind-altering drugs should be banned just like cocaine and heroin.

Firstly, alcohol and tobacco are among the most addictive substances known to man. It might even be argued that they are more addictive than hard drugs due to the normalization of them by society and the social element they carry, making them hard to quit. Therefore, the government should give them the same treatment as cocaine and heroin when it comes to legislation.

Secondly, the affect of these substances on health and society cannot be denied. For example, tobacco damages multiple organs in the body causing numerous types of cancers and making it one of the leading causes of mortality. As for alcohol, it also has a role in causing health issues, for instance liver cirrhosis and cancer, but more importantly on society. Since alcohol is known to alter the mind, it can lead to aggression and reckless behavior making it a contributing factor to violence and car accidents, endangering innocent people. As a result, government should strictly ban the use and trade of these substances.

In conclusion, I think addictive and harmful substances should be given the strict treatment hard drugs receive due to how similar they are in terms of addiction, as well as the fatal consequences not only on the health of those who use, but also the safety of those who don’t.