Many governments have laws that ban the sale and use of hard drugs such as heroin and cocaine, yet they allow people to buy drugs such as tobacco and alcohol. Laws that prohibit the sale and use of hard drugs should be applied to all drugs, including tobacco and alcohol. What is your opinion?

Many governments across the world have banned the trade of hard drugs while still allowing the trade of a few soft drugs like tobacco and alcohol. This has raised the argument that all kinds of drugs should be banned. I completely agree with this statement because, even though the effect of soft drugs is mild, it is an undeniable fact that these soft drugs are the major culprits in road accidents and a few chronic health diseases like cancer. However, completely banning the use of drugs will negatively affect the income of a country.

Drugs like tobacco and alcohol are highly addictive. It is tough for a person to overcome drug addiction. Youth around the world are the most addicted to these drugs. Some are even ruining their careers because of drug addiction. Repetitive use of drugs may cause life-threatening diseases like cancer. Many families are losing their primary breadwinner because of this drug addiction. Furthermore, driving while intoxicated is one of the main reasons for road accidents across the world. To control all these issues, banning all kinds of drugs is a must.

However, there are a few negative effects of banning these drugs. Revenue from alcohol and tobacco is one of the major contributors to a country’s GDP. If these are completely banned, it will be challenging for a nation to cope with all the expenditures it has. Also, tobacco farmers and alcohol manufacturers will lose their livelihoods.

In conclusion, although there will be a few negative impacts, like a decrease in the country’s income and people dependent on tobacco farming and alcohol manufacturing losing their jobs, the positive sides of it will contribute to a better future for the world.