Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

In recent times, government wants to pick economic progress as their major goal, whereas many citizens argue that other aspects of development are equally significant for a nation. Although economic development fosters employment opportunities, I believe that other sectors, such as basic needs and human rights also should be equally treated as important goals for a nation.

To begin with, there are many advantages of economic development that lead to the progress of several other sectors. Firstly, it helps to increase employment opportunities in a country which helps to bring foreign investment from several countries; and if this happens government also profits through tax revenue. In other words, many people get job opportunities within a country which reduces the number of people who go to foreign countries and that is also beneficial to the nation. For example, in the UK, economic progress increased by 10 percent which showed its result the next year through an increase in employment opportunities, double that of previous years.

However, there are other sectors that people still want; many people in rural areas still work hard to meet their basic needs. According to surveys, in Nepal, more than half of the population lives outside of cities, and they struggle very hard to maintain their lives due to problems such as education, health, and other basic needs. If the government focuses on these sectors, it will automatically help in the economic progress of a country. Moreover, citizens will be more satisfied because their demands are fulfilled by the government.

To sum up, economic progress is very much essential for a country, and the government should also look at this; but fulfilling citizens demands and needs is also very important to develop a nation, and it also helps in overall economic progress.