Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

While economic growth is considered the ultimate goal by governments, it is widely believed that there are other essential types of progress that should not be overlooked. It seems to me that the main progress the government has made is not only in the economy.

First, it is a reasonable to attach such importance to economic development, as it is one of the determinants to make a country become a success. When economic growth occurs in a country, it contributes to the formation of new workplaces and the improvement of living standards for citizens. Moreover, due to economic development, the government put funds into the country’s facilities such as highway, transportation, health care and education. Besides, the low economy has a negative impact on people, especially wrecked health status and well-being. For instance, several African countries, where the financial budget is still limited, have been recorded to have the lowest happiness rate, it shows how crucial economic progress is.

On the other hand, economic growth is important for a country, but without social justice and environmental protection, and also cultural development, it cannot be sustainable because both types of progress are interrelated. Social development, affordable education and health care enhance the quality of life of the country’s population. To exemplify, in Scandinavian countries such as Sweden and Norway, significant investment in free education and health care has led to a high standard of living, even if economic growth rates are lower than in some developing countries.

In conclusion, while economic progress plays a crucial role in improving loving standards, other forms of progress, such as social equality, cultural development and environmental sustainability, are equally vital. A balanced approach, where economic growth goes hand in hand with social advancements, is the most effective way to ensure long-term prosperity and the overall well-being of society.