Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

The growth of a countries economy is believed to be one of the most important aspects for a country, while others are of the view that, other progresses such as sustainable development are just as crucial. I agree that other types of progress should be viewed as equally important, and that all factors play a part in the development of a country, not just its economic progress.

Governments that think progress in the economy is their most important goal are those classified in the first world countries, such as America and China. Because they rely heavily on exporting goods and trading, their main goal is to ensure that its economy thrives. For example, if these countries experience a decline in its economy, it will have a negative effect on their exports and trade as they will have no means to do so. Consequently, governments will lose a lot of money and the country will go into a state of disaster. Furthermore, third world countries rely on the progress of first world countries, therefore, if their economy had to collapse, the entire world would suffer the consequences.

On the other hand, a number of people believe that other developments, such as sustainable development, should be viewed as equally important. The reason for this is because less fortunate countries are facing food shortages, pollution and not enough electricity to sustain its citizens. Governments should focus on sustainability rather than its economic growth. For example, without power it would be impossible to grow economically because businesses cannot function without it. Therefore, priority should be placed on developing solar, wind and hydro power to provide the state with electricity in order to function as a whole. Once land is sustainable then economic growth will follow.

In conclusion, I believe that each government should prioritize their goals accordingly. First world countries are able to prioritize economic growth over other developments, whereas other places should focus on other factors such as sustainability.