Many large supermarkets are being built today while the number of small shops is decreasing. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Certain small markets are being replaced by large department stores. While it might be convenient for societies to purchase all kinds of commodities in one place, I believe that this is mainly a negative development because products’ price will definitely increase as a result.

The only advantage of prioritizing supermarkets in that people might be able to find all kinds of products in one place. That is to say, large department stores include many storages and some kinds of service facilities. If accessible and commercial facilities are accumulated in one specious place, communities do not need to spend time to go each small market for each purpose. Taking stalls and barber shops into account, if these kinds of opportunities are available in one huge department, they may not spend excessive funds on transport and time on going each building. This suggests that by preferring supermarkets, the amount of excessive expenses might decrease.

On the other hand, through introducing multi-storage markets, societies buy items or products for expensive prices. In simpler terms, as niche markets occupy smaller place they do not pay much taxes for government, and the products’ price are considerably cheaper. In contrast, due to their enormous size, hypermarkets must pay large amounts of compensation. Commodities prices, therefore, are reasonably more expensive than smaller niches. The supermarkets in Japan, for instance, set higher prices for commodities than local stalls, not least because, its community spends much money for department stores. This illustrates that, by choosing supermarkets, people may economize their funds not giving them for taxi, but they buy products for more expensive prices.

In conclusion, while hypermarkets enable us not spend money for travel, in my opinion, this trend is not for the better in that individuals spend more for commodities as a result.