many offenders commit more crimes after serving thei first punishment

Most people who end up in jail are inclined to recommit crimes when they are freed.

It’s a common thought that this is due to an uneffective prison system, instead of a mere punishment that it would not solve the main problem it would be more beneficial to rehabilitate the offender. To help criminals to change their behave and so their life is essential to give them right tools.

Firstly, it’s necessary to teach them a job with which they can maintain themselves outside the prison without turning in shortcuts that are illegal, such as selling drugs or becoming a member of a gang. Also is well known that having a purpose in life , such as a nice job that you are passionate about, keep people away from doing misdeeds. Criminals could understand and appreciate an other way to live that they’ve never experimented before.

Another important measure that could be taken in prisons could be the introduction of psychotherapy for prisoners, we have to understand,first of all, that they are people like us and if they have committed a felony is because something was wrong in their life. It’s a matter of fact that most of delinquents have had a difficult life growing up, some of them have a history of child abuse or drugs addiction among family’s members.

Fortunatly the belief that criminals needs a second chance is spreading around the world, some of the measures that I’ve described previously are already put into practice in some countries, such as Finland and Sweden.