Many people are working longer and longer hours. Why is this case. is it a positive or negative trend

Nowadays, a large amount of time during the day is taken by individuals to work. This development is to the purpose of making a living. In my perspective, it can affect badly on each person’s health.

In this day and age, it is so common that many people take long hours to work because they want to earn more money. This trend attribute to the increase in daily cost such as accommodation, household facilities and food. As a result, workers have to cover a bigger burden, which puts financial stress on them. For example, when the living cost in China increasingly grows, many individuals are seen working in late evening to get more money. This is also a popular scenery that people can see in many developed countries, where the cost and fee of goods and services are by far higher than those in developing ones.

This phenomenon can cause detrimental effect on personal health. As labors dedicate many hours to work, not only their physical health condition, but also their mental health condition will be taken a toll. The more time people use to earn money, the less time they have to cater for their health, which is synonymous with lacking time of sleeping, doing exercise, and relaxing. If a person does not set aside specific time to adapt what their body needs, they will likely get some common diseases: obesity and anxiety disorder, for example. Therefore, people working for long hours will experience harmful impact on their health.

In conclusion, many people choose to work more to get a large sum of money to cater for their living. However, overworking certainly harms their mental as well as their physical health, which is worthwhile to be considered.