Many people believe that all zoos should be closed, while others claim that zoos have a positive impact. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views as to whether zoos should be closed down or it can be a practical way to defent wild species. While keeping animals in zoos can come up with several drawbacks, I believe that it does more good than harm if viewed through lenses of protection.

Critics of zoos cite various reasons to support their stance. When animals are kept in zoos or cages, they have limited space, cannot walk freely, and are unable to hunt. As a result, this not only undermines their skills of hunting, but also hurts their instincts. For instance, some species which arrived to wildlife after living in zoo for a long time tend to struggle to adapt to a dangerous environment and may die due to starvation or attacks from other predators. Besides, in zoos, a large number of visitors always make fun of species and throw heavy items to them, which can cause serious injuries. In this context, keeping animals in zoological spots can bring detrimental consequences not only to animals’ predatoring abilities but also to their health.

However, despite these arguments, I believe that keeping species in zoos can be beneficial to them. With animals residing in zoos, they frequently get meals without seeking a pray, and live without fear of being attacked. Consequently, they not only have longer life expectations, but also a lower number of deadly injuries. While animals live in a wild where a substantial number of predators and hunters are located, some species have higher chances of being attacked or shooted by poachers. Even though they can get injured in zoos by stones thrown by visitors, I think that these scares pale in comparison they could acquire in wild. Therefore, zoo can be a safer environment for species and increase their life expectations.

To sum up, while keeping animals in zoos can worsen their abilities of hunting and bring some minor injuries, I strongly believe that zoos is the best place for endangered species who are exposed to predators and poachers and at the verge of extinction.