Many people believe that good planning is the key factor to success in life, while others believe that other factors like hard work or luck are important. Discuss both views and give your opinion

One school of thought holds that the most important element in a successful life is good planning, whereas others are of the opinion that factors behind it, such as hard work or luck, also play a pivotal role. This essay attempts to shed light on both views before explaining why I prefer the latter.

Granted, good planning is a prerequisite factor in the journey of achieving success in life. Well-organised abilities enable people to define their goals and mitigate potential risks. To be more specific, an individual with a clear aim and an effective route in the initial stage can concentrate, devote their time, and follow an efficient path to achieve it. This helps them reduce the time spent on unnecessary work, directly contributing to a high rate of success. Take well-strategized students as an example, when they set a goal such as getting a high mark in an exam, and properly use their time to prepare for it. As a result, they are likely to rank higher than those who spend an equal amount of time but only study without any rules and strategies.

By contrast, the advocates of the view that factors like hard work or luck also contribute significantly to success in life are understandable for several reasons. Chief among these is the fact that hard work helps people overcome obstacles and gradually achieve their ultimate goals. As a case in point, the genius physicist Thomas Edison said that in an achievement, the gift only accounts for 1 percent, and the remainder is hard work. Indeed, after approximately a thousand times of experiments, he successfully invented the incandescent light bulb, one of the most prestigious inventions in the world. Moreover, luck can open up for people the door to unexpected opportunities when it appears at the right time with the right person. For instance, if a high-end product seller accidentally has a conversation with a wealthy person who also needs such products, this seller can gain an unexpected order with considerable revenue.

In conclusion, while the role of good planning in people’s success is undeniable, I would contend that other elements, such as hard work or luck, also contribute significantly to it.