Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons? What are solutions to change negative attitudes?

A few individuals believe that global tourism is causing a negative impact for their nation. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this problem before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to address it.

There are two primary reasons as to why international tourism is detrimental for the country. One reason is the increasing number of overseas travellers can strain local ecosystems, damage natural landscapes. The construction of hotels and other facilities to accommodate may lead to the deforestation or the destruction of wildlife habitat, further exacerbating environmental problems. For instance, in Dalat, a large area of forest has been destroyed in order to build resorts for tourism, this stems from erosion and landslides in surrounding areas which can be harmful to the local citizens. Another reason is some people feel that international tourism is attributable to the dilution of local culture and traditions. The influx of foreign visitors may encourage locals to adopt foreign lifestyles leading to the loss of cultural identity. Traditional cuisine, custom can be overshadowed to satisfy tourists.

To combat this worrying issue, the following essential steps should be taken. Firstly, government and local authorities should enforce strict regulations on the acts of damaging forests to construct infrastructure. Hence, many policies can be implemented that prioritise environmental conservation and responsible tourism. Municipal councils need to coordinate with business to effectively manage ecotourism activities associated with natural environment protection. Secondly, efforts should be made to preserve and promote local cultures. Governments can support initiatives that showcase traditional arts, cuisines and crafts or highlight the beauty of historic buildings as well as museums, thereby preserving cultural heritage while benefiting from tourism revenue.