Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children

Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children. I mostly agree with this opinion, although there are some positive aspects too.

Inevitably, children spend a lot of time watching television and using social media, where they see many famous people. Unfortunately, celebrities often show bad behaviour in public, and children may try to copy this. For example, some famous people are infamous for taking drugs or behaving badly, and this gives children a wrong impression of how to live.

many children develop unrealistic ambitions because of media coverage.Interestingly, a vast majority of children surveyed said they want to be famous, but only a small percentage of people actually achieve this kind of fame. This can lead to disappointment when children realise their goals are transient dreams.

However, not all celebrity coverage is bad. Obviously, some celebrities are positive idols who endorse good values like hard work. For instance, some famous athletes can inspire children to do sport and stay healthy.

In conclusion, I agree that media coverage mostly has a negative effect on children because it promotes bad behaviour and unrealistic ambitions. but parents and schools can help children choose better role