Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both society and individuals. To what extent do you agree.

In this contemporary world, social networking platforms such as Facebook become popular among the public as a significant impact within the community. Although advanced technologies support people with much convience, the majority of people convinvce that these social media have had some drawbacks on both people themselves and society as a whole. In my point of view, I strongly agree with this statement as it is extremely obvious that all the humankind is facing the side-effects of being influenced by these social networking sites physically, mentally, financially and socially.

To start off, the popularity of social media started getting familiar with people in an incridible rate in the early 21st century. People loved the easiest way of communicating with other people from afar, sharing the news, making the work done with a click of mouse. This leads to a more entertaining way to show off their daily life, personal thoughts and achievements when Facebook was invented. Although it could be seen as a positive development at first, the misuse of people on the social media showcases its negative impacts such as time-consuming, fake news and the frauds of people. These problems can be solved in devevloped countries which have a strong foundation of cyber laws and securities. However, for poor developing countries like ASEAN and African countries, this can be a threat which can cause many physical and financial damages to the citizens.

In addition to this, the mental health of people using these social media can vary the list of friends they have in their own accounts. Being jealous and not content for their own lives can be the main causes of some people’s mental breakdown. Some researchers reveal that the rate of sucide case is somehow related to the stress and jealousy they see when people on Facebook living in the best, luxious and successful lives. Seeing others’ success stories can drown a failure’s mind when they feel that the world is unfair and upset for their own life.

To conclude, it is undeniable that using social media has many benefits for everyone. However, its siginficant negative impacts on people and the community cannot be ignored, therefore, I totally agree with this statement and hopefully would like to that find the solutions to this threating problem.