Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both society and individuals. To what extent do you agree.

In the contemporary era, the utilization of social networking platforms is steadily increasing. Many believe that they are exerting considerable adverse effects on their users both in individual and social aspects. Due to various reasons, I completely agree with this statement. In this essay, my justification will be explored in detail.

On the one hand, it is clear that some people think that such platforms as Facebook are very useful. These communication hubs emerged as a disruptive change to the previous mail and letters, completely revolutionizing the way we used to communicate. For instance meme refers to the images, photos and videos, or texts shared on the internet to spread a specific idea, style, or behavior. Memes can circulate very quickly from user to user in social networks, blogs, and other platforms. Furthermore, these websites are now connecting billions of people from all over the world where they can exchange information in a matter of seconds. To cite as an example, through the help of online community groups on Facebook, people help each other in foreign countries by seeking help from experienced locals or other foreigners about local laws or other important topics. Moreover, certain individuals have benefited from these platforms by establishing their own online businesses and customer base which necessitates a negligible amount of financing, thus making it a feasible business for investors. Online lessons, language courses and many other necessary areas such as profession and health can be learned via video through YouTube. In addition, the addictive nature of social networking sites, characterized by endless scrolling, can lead to a loss of productivity, disrupted sleep patterns and decreased attention spans. Secondly, social platforms have raised concerns about the drawbacks to social dynamics and discourse. The proliferation of misinformation might lead to the spread of divisive narratives and polarization. This could undermine trust in institutions, fuel social unrest and erode democratic standards. Additionally, social media has been implicated in facilitating cyberbullying, harassment and online speech hate, thus creating toxic environments that might harm humans and society.

Primarily, the excessive usage of social networking websites leads to a significant loss of time for individuals. It is widely acknowledged that the extensive scrolling through Instagram or Facebook by today’s youth detracts from their productivity and academic focus. Consequently, their creative abilities are gradually diminishing, there by impeding societal progress. Furthermore, the lack of robust security measures on these platforms predisposes them to the circulation of false information. In addition, the addictive nature of social networking sites, characterized by endless scrolling, can lead to a loss of productivity, disrupted sleep patterns and decreased attention spans. Secondly, social platforms have raised concerns about the drawbacks to social dynamics and discourse. The proliferation of misinformation might lead to the spread of divisive narratives and polarization. This could undermine trust in institutions, fuel social unrest and erode democratic standards. Additionally, social media has been implicated in facilitating cyberbullying, harassment and online speech hate, thus creating toxic environments that might harm humans and society. Sadly, there is an ugly side to all that technology offers. While bullying is not a new concept, online forum and technology have brought bullying to a new level. It becomes a more constant, ever-present threat — cyberbullying. So, the cons of social media can take a toll on young minds. Suicide remains among the leading causes of death of children under age 14. In most cases, young people die from hanging.

In conclusion, while website can be advantageous if used judiciously, there is a pressing need to mitigate the potential threats they pose to society. And in fact, it is better to restrict these internet networks than to fall victim to its bad aspects if we do not use it in moderation.