Many people believe that stress is now a major problem in modern life. What do you think are the main causes of stress? What measures can be taken to reduce stress levels?

It’s undoubtedly that modern people around the world increasingly suffer from overwhelming stress. There are several reasons for this problem, and various measures could be taken by individuals to improve this situation.

One of the major causes is the competitive and fast-paced lifestyle of modern people who are struggling to find a foothold in this world so as not to fall behind. Additionally, with advanced technology, an increasing number of occupations are substituted with AI devices. In that case, people tend to be stressed about catching up with society. The second reason is that people who are born in the new generation tend to possess low stress resistance. Due to high quality of life and their parents’ overprotection, they can’t endure hardships. The third reason is that most people lead a stressful life with increasing financial burdens, resulting from the aggravating inflation and low fertility rate. Middle-aged adults have to be responsible to take care of their parents and their children as well, not only decreasing the public intention of giving birth but also deteriorating the phenomenon of declining birth rate.

Despite some obvious reasons described above, there are several means individuals could take to solve this problem. Firstly, stop having inferiority complexes. Everyone has different growing backgrounds, economic conditions, dispositions, and endowment in various domains. Instead of comparing yourself with others, embrace authentic self including your shortcomings because no one is flawless. The second measure is to stop forecasting what will happen in the future, since this will make you feel anxious. Additionally, embark on deliberating what you can do to achieve your goals and putting them into practice. Thirdly, don’t perceive those hardships as your enemies but your energy. Just take the hit and enrich yourself because all the stumbles brought you here. Last but not the least, don’t be guilty about taking a breath when you’re suffocated with stress. Take your time to find your purposes in life and retrieve your enthusiasm toward life.

In conclusion, although there are a wide range of factors leading to stress, several approaches can be taken to tackle the problem. Through pondering “stress” in a positive way and regarding those trials in our lives as an opportunity to improve ourselves.