Many people choose to travel abroad to learn a foreign language instead of studying in their home town. Do the advantages of learning a new language in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

It is common for some people to learn a foreign language by traveling abroad rather than study in their hometown. The benefits are they can learn directly from the source language and able to open new network with the people from other country. While the risk of studying abroad is struggle to keep up with the local language. This essay shows the drawback and also why it is better to study foreign language abroad than in their hometown.

To begin with, travel abroad is not an easy task for some people because not all people understand of the responsibility that they should do in their targeted country. This condition will grow worse with the poor understanding of the language known as the “Language Barrier”. Language learner will struggle in communicating with the local people, resulting in confusion when adapting to new society.

Having said that, the language barrier will only affect them temporarily. If the learner can endure this situation when they arrive at the other country, then they will slowly pick up the pace in learning the language. They also having priviledge to learn the language directly from the original source. This will greatly contribute the to better and faster mastery of the language.

Another thing that language learner will experience is the advantage of meeting new people from another country. This is the part that most foreigner find interesting when visit another country because they have to interact with the local in order to get information for living comfortably. The meeting will create international networking to both parties and open new probability for future cooperation.

To sum up, learning a foreign language have many advantages despite the language barrier problem that an individual might encounter. People can learn language from the original source and foster international networking. Therefore, studying foreign language abroad is better than studying it in the hometown.