Many people choose to travel abroad to learn a foreign language instead of studying in their home town. Do the advantages of learning a new language in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

The majority of people prefer traveling to other countries to learn foreign languages rather than just studying in their own country. While there is an important advantage by doing this, there are also more drawbacks of learning new language abroad that can outweigh the benefit. In this essay, I will elaborate more on that.

Firstly, one can not deny that the best way to learn a new language is by exposure. The more you are exposed to the language, the faster you’ll master it. Therefore, by learning it overseas, you’ll be able to immerse yourself into that particular language by not just studying it at a course center, but also by the conversation you’ll hold with local people on a daily basis.

However, learning new languages abroad can become so much expensive as people will have to pay for their visa application, airplane tickets, and managing their accommodation while staying there. While it is clearly not a big issue for the rich, some people with limited budget will find it difficult and consider learning the language in their hometown.

In addition to that, a decision for staying in a new country can be challenging as people will find it hard to adjust with their new environment, especially if they have zero comprehension for the language. They will experience difficulties in socializing with local people. Subsequently, this will affect their mental health, especially for the fainthearted people, and will reconsider their decision of staying abroad.

In conclusion, while learning a new language by staying overseas have an essential advantage in making people to master the language faster, it also has some drawbacks that can potentially outweigh its benefit, especially for some group of people.