Many people choose to travel abroad to learn a foreign language instead of studying in their home town. Do the advantages of learning a new language in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

While it is possible to learn a new foreign language from the home country, in present days, a lot of people decide to learn abroad. In my opinion, these preferences have their own advantages and disadvantages. In this essay I will present my opinion on these views.

On one hand, learning a language abroad will cost a lot of money. As known, traveling to another country requires expensive accommodation such as plane ticket, house, and daily expenditure. The budget gap between learning abroad and in my hometown might be quite large for that reason. That’s why some people might believe learning from their hometown is better since people can utilize technology such as YouTube, learning apps, or private tutor.

On the other hand, learning abroad will provide a better environment and provide people with higher and prolonged exposure toof the language usage. It is important to have high exposure when learning a new language since it can help people listening and speaking a variety of topics. Compared to learning online that has a limited time of exposure, learning in the proper environment will make people adapt faster with the language.

In addition, learning abroad will encourage people to speak directly with a native speaker. This interaction not only improved their language skill but also social skill and cultural understanding. Social and cultural understanding can become an important addition since people can get used to soft skills of language such as relevant idioms, slangs, and expressions.