Many people choose to travel abroad to learn a foreign language instead of studying in their home town. Do the advantages of learning a new language in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

In various countries, many people choose to travel abroad in order to learn a foreign language. While there is clearly a drawback of this situation, I personally believe that the benefits are more significant.

The disadvantage of studying a foreign language while traveling abroad is a waste of money and time-consuming. In this sense, students that travel abroad might need a certain amount of money to pay their needs when they are abroad. This amount of money might be more beneficial for them if they can allocate it for other important expenses such as tuition fee for a degree study. Moreover, studying a foreign language abroad is also time-consuming. The students may end up wasting their important time while others can get a useful degree.

On the other hand, one of the major advantages is that students can broaden their mind and enrich their experience while study abroad. The reason for this is that when the students go abroad, they will be able to see more of different cultures and customs. Thus, as they are exposed to many cultures and customs they will learn to respect diversity. This stuation wil broaden their horizon when they also learn other cultures. Consequently, once they are going back home they will bring this wonderful experience along with their open-minded habits thus benefiting their society.

Another benefit of studying a foreign language overseas is that students can get a world wide networking. Studying a foreign language in another country will lead the students to meet people from various nationality backgrounds. Therefore, students will be able to connect with many international individuals. As the students stay connected with their international friends, they might take an advantage of this networking in the future. As a result, these students might get a better chance in their future careers as they have a world wide networking.

To sum up, the advantages of studying a foreign language abroad are more greater than the disadvantages. Although study abroad might be time-consuming and a waste of money, it is also broaden the students’ minds and enrich their experience. Moreover, these students can get a world wide networking. Therefore, it is highly recommended for many individuals to experience learning a foreign language abroad.