Many people consider shopping malls as a great places to spend their lesiure time and meet other people. In the past however visiting shopping malls only when necessry To what extend do you agree it its a negative trend

Nowadays,shopping centres have become popular destinations not only for shopping but also for socializing. Unlike in the past, when people visited malls mainly for vital shopping, today they are viewed as places to relax and spend free time. I believe this change has both positive and negative aspects, but in this essay I will focus on the negative trends.

First of all, spending too much time in shopping malls can reduce real communication. In the past people used to spend their time visiting relatives, going to parks, or participating in social events, which helped them to build and maintain stronger relationships. However, nowadays most people meet their friends in shopping centres and in places like this conversations are often short and surrounded by annoying, noisy crowds. As a result, people may feel connected ,but are ultimately emotionally more distant from each other.

Secondly, spending leisure time in malls might negatively affect both mental and physical health. Modern shopping centres are are, closed environment with artificial lighting and non-stop background music. Staying there for long hours can cause fatigue, stress ,or lack of concentration. Moreover, people tend to move less while visiting these places, spending most of the time sitting in cafes or eating something. This motionless lifestyle may lead to health issues such as obesity, or back pains. Therefore, relying on shopping centres can actually make people less active and less emotionally balanced in the long term.

In conclusion, spending leisure time in shopping malls has several negative effects on individuals and society that are not limited to only health problems and relationships, but can also lead to more serious consequences such as addiction and financial problems. Overall, each individual has the responsibility of deciding how much shopping is deemed necessary and what is considered excessive.