Many people consider shopping malls as a great places to spend their lesiure time and meet other people. In the past however visiting shopping malls only when necessry To what extend do you agree it its a negative trend

Nowadays, people’s tendency to visit shopping centers varies from spending their spare time to meeting with their nearest ones, although individuals in the past went there to meet their essential needs. I believe that this contemporary development has some negative consequences not only for humans but also for society.

To begin with, frequent and unnecessary visits to shopping malls may cause financial damage to people. To be more precise, when individuals go to the shopping centers more, they may get attracted to the lucrative advertising campaigns that result in spending excessive money while purchasing or consuming unnecessary things. A recent report, published in ‘The Daily Sun’, indicates that more than 65% of the people living in Dhaka – the capital city of Bangladesh – tend to exceed their monthly budget, especially when they visit more to these malls. One plausible reason for this unwanted expenditure, as the survey explains, is due to being trapped in by the advertising that is visible everywhere in the shopping centers. Hence, frequent visits to the shopping malls often make people financially unstable.

Additionally, spending more time in shopping centers shortens people’s time, for which they may be deprived of getting enormous benefits of socialization. If people becoming more and more addicted to visiting those malls where they spend their leisure, they may not find enough time to take part in societal welfare events, nor do any activity engaging nature. The findings of a recent survey conducted by RSPB – Royal Society for Protecting Birds, a charitable organization based in England & Wales – showed that more than 55% of people in cities failed to participate in natural activities because of a shortage of time, and this can cause a disease, namely nature deficit disorder. Therefore, investing more time in shopping malls may put serious negative impacts on humans and society.

To conclude, the trend of frequently visiting shopping arenas for enjoying leisure or meeting with others causes harm to individuals not only by wasting their money but also by detaching them from nature. Consequently, it is imperative to control this for the betterment of people and society.