Many people feel that media coverage is becoming increasingly biased today. Why is this? What can be done to fix this problem?

In today’s world, a considerable proportion of population think that media bias is a growing concern. This essay will examine the main causes behind this problem and offer possible solutions.

The two primary causes of this problem are media conglomerates and sensationalism. First and most obvious, large companies own small organizations and require them to present news in ways they want. In other words, such conglomerates try to spread their views and opinions via media, which is the easiest and safest option for them. For example, huge corporations convey and prevalence secretly their political and societal thoughts through media in order not to get punishment from governments, which results in the loss of their recognition. Furthermore, media organizations try to entice people using the technique of the clickbait. They create sensational headings and thumbnails, which are often exaggerated, drawing people’s attention and make them click on the news. For instance, if individuals click the news that is about the going bankrupt of a company, they can encounter with the news which is only about this company’s financial struggles. Thus, the fear from the government and desire to gain more clicks can contribute to the media bias.

Possible solutions to this issue are promoting independent journalism and stricter regulatory measures. Small organizations are possessed by large conglomerates due to the lack of non-profit media establishments. If the governments and businesses fund these small corporations, the influence of huge companies can be minimized, leading to more unbiased news, which is better for the media reporting in terms of gaining more trust. Moreover, this problem comes from the lack of legal constraints. Governments should implement some policies and strict rules about media to prevent independence and hegemony of the huge corporations. For example, they can frequently follow media conglomerates, being aware of their activities, which may help them to determine and reveal their hidden actions.

In conclusion, the effects of big companies and sensationalism are the primary reasons for biased media. However, governments can significantly reduce the level of media prejudice by funding small organizations and making legislative reform.