Many people find that modern life is faster, busier and more stressful than the past. More and more people are suffering with stress in their daily life, and the rates of stress-related illness are increasing. What are the main causes of stress in modern life? How can these problems be tackled?

In recent times, there has been a sharp increase in the number of people who are suffering illnesses connected to a stressful lifestyle. There are several reasons why stress is increasing in modern society, including employment insecurity, the increased reliance on technology and excessive working hours. This essay will examine these issues in more detail and propose possible solutions.

One factor behind stress in modern life is the lack of job security. Nowadays, it is common for people to be employed on zero-hours contracts asn, as a result, this could lead them to worry about the availability of hours and subsequent pay they will receive each week. To deal with this problem, governments could implement laws that would forbid these types of contracts. If this was enforced, workers would be more secure and have less financial stress in their daily lives.

A further cause of stress is the increased use of technology. Although there are a multitude of benefits brought about by technology, it can also have negative effects on the working patterns of employees. For example, many workers feel pressured to check their emails during their free time which can impact their ability to have a healthy work-life balance. One way forward would be for organisations to enstate company policies that prohibit the answering of emails outside of working hours. A further contributing factor to stress can be the long working hours expected of employees. In many cases, people are working increasingly long hours and there is often a social pressure to work late to be deemed as a good employee. To counteract this problem, governments could put measures in place to monitor maximum working hours of staff.

In conclusion, it is clear there are a range of causes behind the stresses of modern life, many of which are connected to the workplace and technology. Unless these issues are addressed, I believe that stress-related illnesses will continue to rise and therefore, both governments and employers need to take responsibility and implement measures to take care of employees’ physical and mental wellbeing.