Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Every year, a large numbers of patients from poor countries have to sacrifice their lives unnecessarily just because they could not afford the medicine. Regarding this matter, I believe it would be a lot better if the companies were to cut down the price appropriately so that underdeveloped countries could also get access to the medicine.

One one hand, it is true that since the demand of the advanced medicinal products, which are prominently essential for chronic illnesses, are the highest in the market, they have to be to sold at the most possibly expensive price, which only the elite can pay for. The reason is simple enough; mainly due to the experiments that have to be conducted at least a hundred of times, the rare ingredients used in the pills and the amount of manpower required for manufacturing. Considering all these factors, it is not possible for drug enterprises not to sell these products at the excessive prices.

However, on the other hand, it does not justify the fact that citizens from poor countries should be left to die just because the medication is not accessible to them. The problem could be easily resolved if the companies donate a certain amount of pills or reduce the price by half to the genuinely needed nations. Even though it will make them lose a bit of profits by doing so, it is still negligible compared to human lives that have to be lost as a result of insufficient medication.

In conclusion, in this day and age, there should not be any more deaths caused by non-fatal diseases just because they could not pay for the medication. If only the drug companies were not so greedy, this could have been prevented efficiently since a long time ago.