Many people like to eat unhealthy food even though they know it's bad for them. *Why and What are the most effective ways to improve people's eating habits?*

Many people continue to consume unhealthy food although they have full awareness of its harmful effect on health. This phenomenon can be explained based on some major reasons, and some solutions to address that are mentioned in this essay

The widespread consumption of unhealthy food stems from several reasons. Chief among these is that those who have busy schedules usually choose fast food because of its speed of service. Compare with healthy food, that required much time to prepare ingredients, cook, and then clean after having a meal. As a consequence, fast food obviously becomes the best choice for people. Besides that, in some countries, fruits and vegetables are usually more expensive than unhealthy food. One healthy meal often costs as much as a whole day’s fast food, so people definitely choose a solution that is both cheap and fast, not one both time-consuming and expensive. In addition, some people feel comforted when consuming unhealthy food to overcome pressure. This makes immediate satisfaction outweigh their concern about long-term health.

To address this issue, the government should implement some measures. Policymakers should reduce the tax applied to healthy food, which would also reduce the cost of vegetables and fruits among retailers. Consequently, consumers will be encouraged to buy healthy food, also create an opportunity for people who want to have a healthy diet but do not have abundant finances. In addition, the government should implement some policies that encourage restaurants and businesses to develop nutritious meals that are equally tasty and serve quickly, making healthy options more appealing to consumers.

In conclusion, although fully aware of the harmful effects of food, people choose it as the best choice. This is because it provides them with a fast, delicious option. As a consequence, the government should implement some policies that encourage consumers and businesses willing to invest in healthy food.