Many people nowadays prefer online shopping. Is it a positive or negative development?

Thanks to recent developments in information of technology and the internet, people are now able to do their shopping online instead of physical stores. Is this positive development? Some people claim that online shopping takes the humanity out of shopping. However, it is better to shop online than in physical shops, for the following reasons.

It could be argued that shopping in physical stores is more convenient than shopping online. Firstly returns and exchanges are easier in physical stores. In addition, many of these stores also offer free delivery of goods, because with a receipt, physical shops are easy to deal with the returning, exchanging, and using warranty. However, shopping online is even more convenient. First of all online stores can be accessed anywhere, any time. Secondly, it is not necessary to find somewhere to park in an online store since it is not necessary to travel to an online store. Thirdly it is not necessary to queue in an online store, and finally online stores offer a wider range of products than physical stores. There are several reasons for this. First there are more shops online than there are physical shops in any high street or in shopping cebtres can also be found online because supermarkets offer home delivery of goods ordered through their website and digital downloads are now common. Furthermore products can be found online that are not available locally because online stores include products from a wider range of manufacturers than physical stores. Examples of these include Etsy, etc.

It could be also be argued that physical shops save money. Firstly, price and payment terms can often be negotiated in physical stores, and Secondly physical shops do not change shipping costs. However online stores save even more money. To begin, using online stores leads to fuel savings, since a car is not necessary. Online goods are also cheaper than goods sold in physical shop because there is increased competition between online retailers and online stores do not have to pay the overhead of owning a physical business that will cost them insurance , employee oay, taxes, etc. Firstly it it easy to compare prices and product details online because online stores include detailed reviewed of the products. Conversely in a physical shop people may buy more items than anticipated because these shops feature music, scents, lighting, fixtures and sales assistant that influence us to buy more. Last but not least, online stores do not charge sales tax.

In conclusion, physical shops are thing of the past. Online stores offer convenience and competitive prices. In the future most people will eventually turn to online shopping, and physical shop will become a thing of the past.