Many people think cheap air travel should be encouraged because it gives ordinary people the freedom to travel further. However, others think this leads to environmental problems, so air travel should be more expensive in order to discourage people from having it. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary era, it is argued that encouraging cheap air travel enables people to travel further while some assume that the sharp increase in the cost of such service is instrumental in preventing environmental issues. This essay will elucidate both viewpoints on this problem, ultimately concluding with my support for the latter.

One perspective favoring cheap air travel is oriented towards mitigating financial pressure. Specifically, ordinary individuals often make fortune at an average level, and if they combine with using money effectively, after a long time saving, they just might have access to few air travels, attributing to monetary strain. For example, many Vietnamese people have limited access to travelling by plane, stemming from their low salaries. In theory, the appearance of cheap air travel can take the budget problem in stride, enabling people to travel by plane more frequently without the financial pressure. As a result, this grants normal people freedom to travel further.

However, I firmly believe that increasing the cost of air travel is necessary to exhibit the occurrence of environmental problems, particularly regarding the depletion of the natural finite energy. To clarify, if travelling by plane occurs more frequently, this must require a significant amount of energy such as fuel and coal, to operate planes. Overtime, this likely leads to the overreliance on fuel fossil to accommodate people’s need for travelling further, causing the shortage of natural non-renewable energy. Concurrently, in the process of energy consumption, planes will release a huge amount of exhausted emission and carbon footprint, which directly contributes to a wide range of problems on atmosphere such as air pollution and global warming. Therefore, these factors have fostered the stance with respective to environmental protection through raising air travel costs.

In conclusion, although cheap air travel can empower people to travel further through alleviating financial pressure, the resultant drawbacks including the depletion of finite energy and atmosphere problem it offers to the environment, are more considered. Consequently, air travel should be more exorbitant with a view to hindering such environmental issues.