Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationships. Do you agree or disagree?

In the era of domination, high-tech has risen. Because of that, in recent years, modern communication technology has started to replace face-to-face interactions. The topic of whether modern technology has negative effects is a complex one. Some say that modern communication technology helps us with many benefits, while others think that advanced technology brings us many drawbacks. I somehow agree with both sides.

On the one hand, modern communication technology brings disadvantages. Primarily, high technology can cause arguments in social relations. For instance, when having a conversation with others, they may hear words that make them feel disappointed. Another drawback is that it is not good for our physical health due to the bright light it emits. Looking at it for too long can strongly affect your eyes and brain, making you feel sleepy and tired, and in the worst situation, it can lead to health issues. Additionally, sometimes a bad or disconnected wifi can end a conversation because it can make it difficult to hear clearly what your friends are saying, reducing the enjoyment of online conversations.

On the other hand, high tech can also bring many benefits if we use it in a smart way. Firstly, it can help reduce carbon emissions and pollution. Many of your online friends often live far away from you, so you may need to travel by car to meet them, which releases a huge amount of carbon dioxide into the environment. Lastly, advanced communication technology is much more convenient than face-to-face interactions. The most important thing is access to the internet. If you have that, you can call anywhere and anytime you want.

In a nutshell, although high technology brings us many benefits, such as reducing air pollution and releasing carbon into the atmosphere, it also has some drawbacks. Moreover, advanced communication technology is so convenient—it allows you to literally call anyone from any place. However, on the flip side, modern technology brings many barriers to our lives; it can break social relationships by disconnecting and causing arguments. Furthermore, it can negatively impact your physical health.