Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationships. Do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that modern technology and communication methods have increasingly dragged social relationships downward. This phenomenon has increased in popularity during and after the pandemic. From my perspective, I am in favor of this opinion.

Social interaction is a way to help us build more relationships that benefit us in several ways. Nowadays, the fully developed network system from all around the globe has innovated new ways to communicate via WiFi and applications, but this new technology has brought us many issues to deal with. For instance, the incognito status provided by the encryption of your computer helps you to hide your real identity, but this may accidentally make many feel irresponsible for their actions. Take Jessica Slaughter as an example—she was Cybershot to death by hateful comments on social media, simply due to a small misunderstanding. Moreover, by using it frequently, your social skills will become more narrow, as you never have to see someone to communicate, leading to awkwardness when meeting a real person. Furthermore, the toxicity in Cyber space has dramatically increased in recent years. The environment is filled with various types of people, some of whom may inject bad ideologies into your brain, potentially leading to mental instability. Forums are meant for sharing thoughts and ideas, but internet forums, on the contrary, often lead to conflicts between different schools of thought, causing opposing sides to hurl insults at each other. As a result, many people become more shy and afraid of social interaction, in directory creating introverted personalities.

In conclusion, in our modern world, where advanced technology features many upgrades to the means of communication, language barriers are no longer a problem. However, as we have more advanced technology, we may have fewer social interactions. If we continue to abuse modern technology to interact with each other, in the near future, we may become more isolated, like the passengers in Wall-E.