Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationships. Do you agree or disagree?

In modern times, technology has become an integral part of the world, rather than just a device to help people do their jobs more easily. Some people have assumed that communication technologies such as mobile phones, laptops, and PCs slowly have a negative impact on social relationships. Personally, I do not agree with this thought. In this writing, I’ll explain why I disagree.

First of all, modern communication technology actually plays an individual role in online calls or meetings, as it can help you to talk with another person even though they are thousands of miles away from you. Especially during the pandemic, when lockdowns stop people from communicating with each other, technology becomes the replacement for that. So, despite not being able to talk in person, it can be the best solution that everyone can use. And it’s quite easy to bring it anywhere as long as they have a great Internet connection and don’t have a noisy background when calling.

Secondly, the benefits of technology encompass more than just communication. The best thing about it is that you can literally do anything and take it anywhere on the planet. All you need to worry about is charging it, having access to good Wi-Fi, and remembering to check it whenever you go somewhere. You can order food and drinks, go shopping, surf the internet, research things for school or work projects, listen to downloaded music, or even play games on it. However, if you misuse it, you may develop habits such as staying up overnight or listening to loud music which can harm your hearing. Therefore, whether technology is good or bad depends on how people use it.

In summary, communication technology is useful and quite affordable. For me, social relationships aren’t affected a lot, even if they aren’t physically close to each other; they can communicate in person or through a webcam. It is also a misconception for people to believe that its impact is negative, but it is not accurate to think that it can entirely replace in-person conversations; everything has two sides. Therefore, I disagree with that notion.