Many people think that individuals cannot do anything to improve the environment, and only governments and large companies can make a real difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The public have a view that everyone, no matter how small their position is in the political world, can bring change to the environment. They’re saying that no matter how small their actions are, it could bring all of us to a better Earth. But, are those sayings true?

Logically, the ones who have the power to bring great and massive changes are the goverment, who is in charge of the regulations, and large companies, who can do wide-scale actions to help the Earth. What the common folks do are often seen as insignificant, like a fragile sea foam in the vast ocean who can do nothing but to vanish in an instant, compared to those with bigger influence who are able to make huge waves.

However, I personally disagree with the view that says that we, common people, could not bring significant changes. While it is true that our actions are barely life-changing when it’s done individually, but if it’s done by a lot of people, then I believe that it would make a difference. We can make an analogy using ants. One, small ant is weak and fragile. Humans can easily crush them with their bare hands. However, a colony of ants could instill fear on humans, as together they could inflict fatal injuries on any living beings who dare to disturb them. The same applies to this context. If we all agree to do something; like planting trees for an example, then that means that there would be hundreds or even millions of trees planted. It shows that our combined effort can make a huge impact to the environment.