Many people think that individuals cannot do anything to improve the environment, and only governments and large companies can make a real difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While it is widely recognized that only governments and large corporations can make substantial differences in enhancing the environment, which is beyond each person’s ability, I am wholeheartedly opposed to this thought.

Granted, large-scale environmental issues may necessitate support from the government and large companies. Such institutional actors often have more resources, such as budget or specialized technologies, and authority, paving the way for them to alleviate some huge ecological problems, which is challenging for each individual. For example, the government could reduce water pollution by imposing a stringent regulation, forcing their people to dispose of and treat waste properly, which in turn contributes significantly to a cleaner and fresher environment. Nonetheless, this reasoning overlooks the fact that small individual actions, when repeated widely, can yield a substantial collective effect on environmental quality enhancement.

More importantly, I am resolutely convinced that thanks to adjustments in people’s habits, the environment has undoubtedly improved significantly. When each person switches to frequently using public transport like bicycles or walking rather than petrol vehicles, the quantities of waste are likely to be lower. This, as a result, not only restricts the risk of natural resource depletion, but also fosters overall well-being in the long run. Moreover, countless individuals also make a contribution by engaging in some environment protecting programs, tree planting, for example, launched by the government or a large institution, which not just lessens carbon dioxide emissions, but also creates wonderful landscapes. Hence, individuals have demonstrated their roles in environment improvement.

In conclusion, while authorities and huge corporations may afford to address the majority of environment-related issues and advance the quality of our living environment, I maintain that personal contributions are indispensable to assist such major actors.