Many people think that interviews are not the best way to assess the suitability of a candidate for a position. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some observers believe that using face-to-face interviews might not be the prioritization for choosing appropriate applicants. After considering aspects of this viewpoint, I agree that we should use more methods rather than interviewing to evaluate candidates’ specialist skill.

Admittedly, recruiters want to challenge applicants by slating interviews unpredictably. To explain, some employees tend to be well-prepared for their presentations or formal conversations, yet the problem-solving skill in unexpected events like phone interviews two days after applications can not be shown in such candidates. However, this action does not always reflect the other valuable skills that match with the corporate’s mission and vision. For example, candidates having no quick responses to unforeseen occurrences may own the industriousness, which can contribute to reducing training costs, concreting colleagues’ hard-working persona, raising efficiency for the companies.

Apart from that, using other ways in the recruiting process may bring benefits to the corporates. Chief among these is that the recruiter can create group discussion tests for candidates to show their values. This is because when 5 to 7 contestants are put in one group to resolve a big business case, all want to display their finest qualities, so judges can witness each key skill, have the comparisons and choose who is the appropriate candidate. Moreover, employers can use IQ and EQ tests for the applicable contestants. For example, lots of multinational corporations choosing geometry or algebra questions combined with multiple choice questions about picking emotions depended on pictures they saw. Those tests can screen who has higher scores in intellectual skill and emotional recognition, which assists the businesses’ development and human resources quality in the long term.

In conclusion, although interviews might help companies to choose candidates with flexibility, using group discussions, IQ and EQ tests can be more valuable for corporations in working environment, human resources and efficiency. Therefore, I firmly hold my position supporting the idea that we should adopt other methods in recruitments rather than interviewing.