Many people think that interviews are not the best way to assess the suitability of a candidate for a position. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that it is a useful way for companies to choose the suitable employees by interviewing them. From my point of view, I wholeheartedly agree with this view.

On the one hand, there are several drawbacks to judging a candidate’s suitability for a position through some face-to-face interviews. Firstly, in an interview, recruiters may only consider candidates’ certificates, degrees or internship processes to assess their abilities, and applicants also need to engage in conversation to show their knowledge related to their desired job. In this way, only people who have good communication skills can overcome these challenges, so well- educated and competent candidates who are bad at communicating are likely to be eradicated. To illustrate, well- educated IT graduates who may not have a good sense of communication, due to spending most time programming and coding may find it difficult to get a job to earn stable income if companies continue to use this selection procedure to find suitable employees. This is disadvantaged for both competent applicants and businesses as a whole.

On the other hand, other drawbacks of interviews also need to be taken into account. As a matter of fact, because candidates may have to answer the academic questions and deal with impractical situations that interviewers come up with during the interview, employers cannot evaluate applicants’ practical skills necessary for real-life jobs. For example, when people apply for a job in kindergarten, recruiters should observe and assess their abilities to take good care of children or do laundry instead of considering academic achievement.

In conclusion, it is really disadvantaged and absurd to judge the suitability of a candidate for a position only through intervie

ws.