Many people think that interviews are not the best way to assess the suitability of a candidate for a position. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Interview, as one of the most well-known hiring methods in businesses, is believed to be ineffective in terms of reviewing an individual’s strength for a job. From my perspective, I partly disagree with this notion for several reasons.

To begin with, it is undeniable that the large number of candidates in a hiring period influences corporations to use the interview measures. To demonstrate, with the excessive rise of global population, the demands for stable occupations also follow this propensity, emphasizing the need for an efficient and quick hiring process. As a result, because of the ability to simultaneously check interviewees’ background knowledge and interpersonal skills through the job-related questions, interviews enable companies to rapidly select the potential workers for their purposes in a shorter time than those with complicated procedures, such as tests or doing projects. Furthermore, as this method effectively tests a person’s communication ability, certain occupations may prioritize it. For example, to apply for the marketing positions in a private business in Viet Nam, interviewees are commonly challenged to prepare and demonstrate an advertising strategy in front of the CEOs.

However, some specialized methods for special jobs can be applied to fully show a person’s capacity. For example, Doctor or surgeon, due to its precise and creative characteristics, should include tests on a real model so participants can illustrate their full potential. Moreover, with the technology progress, those complicated and time-consuming procedures can be significantly shortened by modern application. Indeed, advanced features, such as AI, help businesses simultaneously process multiple tasks while ensuring accuracy and speed. Hence, works associated with technology or complex tasks may replace the traditional interview with more direct measures to completely review an individual’s talents.

In conclusion, while some more effective methods for certain jobs can be used to check a person’s suitability for that position, interviews appear to be more universal and effective in virtually every circumstance. The way corporations utilize them in the hiring process will determine the final result.