Many people think that museums and galleries should only show work from local artists rather than work from other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that only local artist’s works should be showen instead of foreign art works. While I understand the importance of showcasing local arts in such spaces, I believe that showing the artwork of foreigners can also be beneficial.

Showcasing local artist’s work in museums or galleries has its own advantages. The main benefit would be that preservation of cultural heritage can help people to get to know and learn more about their culture and history by showing them visual exhibition of historically important events through paintings, sculpture and traditions. As a result, it can foster a sense of ownership and a pride in their identities. Also, its another benefit can be finance. Because artists works are performed in museums, it increases the sales of artworks. Famous art galleries and museums usually attract more potential customers, adding up to the total amount of artist’s earnings.

Nevertheless, showcasing works of international artists can also be beneficial. Presenting the work of foreign artists in museums or galleries may help people to learn more about other cultures and their traditions. As a result, people may start appreciating those cultures more, developing a welcoming environment for everyone around the world. Also,it strengthens the relationship between people from different backgrounds, leading to peace between nations. Furthermore, exhibition of foreign artists encourage local artists to work further in their field,since presentation of international artist’s can help them to find new ideas.

In conclusion, while showcasing local artist’s work in museums and galleries can be beneficial by financially and historically, I believe that foerigner’s artwork can also be useful, leading to cross cultural understanding.