Many people think that museums and galleries should only show work from local artists rather than work from other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Museums and art galleries play a very important role in enabling the artists around the globe to portray their art. Significant number of people are of the opinion that the work by local artists should only be displayed in the museums and galleries rather than showing the work by international artists. The talented local artists must have a designated area allocated to them in the museums, but I believe that international creators should also get an opportunity to present their art.

There are very few artists left in the world who keep their regional culture and art forms alive. These people should get an opportunity to present their art in their local museums as that is the only way which can educate people about the different art forms. A lot of museums do not support the local artisans as they deem the local art to be unattractive which in turn won’t attract the public. However, people are eager to learn about different art that has existed or the new art that is being created. There are a lot of museums across the United States which treasure the historic significance of variety of arts of that area and have displayed the collection in their museum galleries. Tourists who visit a new city are always excited to learn about the culture and the history of that place and make sure that they have allocated decent amount of time from their itinerary for visiting museums and art galleries. In the state of Maharashtra, India, a very ancient art form of Warli painting was promoted by the government by allowing the artists to display their paintings and designed goods in different art exhibitions across the country. This not only helped the talented artists to make a living but also saved the art form from becoming extinct.

The museums across the world should also allow international artists to display their art. The people eventually get bored of seeing the same art pieces all over again and are willing to welcome new arts in their favorite art gallery. Most of the famous museums allow international artists to put up an exhibition to show their work for a small duration of time. This creates revenue generation opportunity for the museums along with providing much needed visibility to different artists. For example, the world famous, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, has new exhibits every month besides its own collection of artifacts which attracts not only the tourists but also the residents of the city. This is also a good chance for the museums to earn money through the entry fees which they charge the customers.

It is essential for the museums to provide an opportunity to local artists to showcase and promote their work, but it should provide equal chances to international artists as this is the only way art will be promoted globally. This will also help the museums to make more revenue and provide better services to the visitors. Global artists can also improve the relationship between two countries and bring the society together. To conclude, I would disagree with the opinion that only the local artists should be given a chance to present their art in local museums.