Many people think that the truth should be objective rather than subjective when it comes to the news. Do you think all news is true? What is the function of a newspaper?

It is widely believed that the news should be objective instead of being biased. While the media does keep the public informed, I believe it can also be driven by prejudice and personal beliefs of the reporters rather than the whole truth. This essay will examine whether all news is necessarily true and discuss the function of newspapers.

Although the news media was invented to convey the truth to people, in my view, nowadays it can be deceptive and prejudiced. The reporters are not without personal opinions and at times, they can also project their own emotions onto a piece. It is also possible for them to be influenced, if not forced by the ruling party to redact any story that may show the current government in a bad light. This is especially the case with authoritarian governments such as North Korea, which is notorious for putting pressure on news reporters to circulate false information to manipulate the public perception of their dictator. This implies that the news cannot always be trusted.

The fundamental function of print media is to provide people with facts, particularly ones that are relevant to them. It is important for the public to be aware of their local crime rates, the elected politicians performances and other such information. In fact, newspapers were invented to ensure that people were aware about clandestine deals between two nations at war. The inventors believed that it is a citizen’s right to know their country’s current reality. Moreover, the information should also be given in a concise manner. It is not feasible for the common-people to read broadsheets everyday given their busy schedules. Hence, it is vital for the paper to include terse articles of findings that are most relevant to their readers.

In conclusion, despite the ability of news to provide the people with intelligence reports, it can also be misleading and manipulated for the benefit of powerful leaders. They can defeat the purpose of a newspaper, which is to give people important information. Act as an ielts examiner and estimate gthe band for this essay.